So Irish Casinos
Software providers · updated 8 August 2026

Play'n GO in Ireland: Book of Dead, Reactoonz, and Where the Studio Actually Turns Up

Play'n GO's own page for Book of Dead states the exact release date, 14 January 2016, and says nothing at all about RTP. Of the nine partner casinos checked on this site in September 2026, only one carried the studio's slots on the page opened.

A studio that states the release date and skips the number that matters more

Play’n GO’s own page for Book of Dead is specific about one thing: the game launched on 14 January 2016. It says nothing about RTP. The same is true of Reactoonz, released 23 October 2017, and Fire Joker, released 13 June 2016; all three pages were checked directly on playngo.com in September 2026, and none of them states a return-to-player percentage anywhere in the game description.

That is worth stating plainly rather than filling the gap, because Book of Dead in particular is one of the most widely played slots in the industry, and a figure gets attached to it constantly in casino lobbies and review sites. Whatever number a lobby shows, it did not come from Play’n GO’s own page, so this guide does not repeat one.

Who Play’n GO actually is

Play’n GO’s own about page names Johan Törnqvist as chief executive and co-founder and lists two offices: one in Valletta, Malta, and one in Gibraltar. It states the company operates in more than 35 jurisdictions and describes a portfolio of over 400 titles, with Book of Dead singled out as “one of the most played slots in the history of iGaming,” a claim the company makes about its own product rather than one sourced elsewhere.

On regulation, the same page lists a Malta Gaming Authority B2B licence (MGA/B2B/225/2012, issued 1 August 2018), a Gibraltar Licensing Authority and Gambling Commissioner licence (RGL No. 131, issued 22 March 2022), and UK Gambling Commission account numbers. It does not disclose an exact founding year or name a parent company on the page checked, which are gaps worth flagging rather than filling with an assumed date.

The company’s own recent-news listing, checked the same day, names market expansions into Switzerland, Canada, Colombia, Botswana and the United States across 2025 and 2026. That is five separate regulated markets added inside about eighteen months, which is a faster pace of expansion than most of the studios covered on this site’s provider pages, and it sits oddly next to how little the same company says about the numbers behind any individual game.

The three titles that carry the brand into Irish lobbies

Signature title Release date (studio’s own page) What the page describes RTP stated
Book of Dead 14 Jan 2016 Expanding symbol during free spins, retriggerable Not published
Reactoonz 23 Oct 2017 7×7 cluster grid; Gargantoon feature chain up to five features Not published
Fire Joker 13 Jun 2016 Respin of Fire feature; Wheel of Multipliers up to 10x Not published

The pattern across all three is consistent enough to call a house policy rather than an oversight on one page. Where Pragmatic Play prints an RTP figure under “Basic Game Info” on every title checked for this site’s Pragmatic Play guide, Play’n GO’s own pages describe mechanics and dates in detail and stop short of the percentage.

Book of Dead’s own page is a good example of how much detail sits either side of that missing number. It describes a five-reel slot themed around an Egyptian adventurer, with the game’s Expanding Symbol feature doing the heavy lifting: land three scatter symbols and the page states 10 free spins begin, during which one symbol is chosen at random to expand and fill the reel on every winning spin. Landing three or more scatters again during that round retriggers another 10 spins, which is the entire mechanic behind why the game is played as heavily as it is. None of that description depends on knowing the RTP, but a player deciding how much to stake per spin is left without the one figure that would tell them what to expect over time.

A digression: the F1 partnership says more about the company than the games do

Worth a short detour, because it is the kind of detail Play’n GO’s own site volunteers more readily than an RTP figure. The company’s recent news names a partnership with the TGR Haas F1 Team, sitting in the same news feed as the market-expansion announcements above. A studio sponsoring a Formula 1 team is not behaving like a company retreating from scrutiny; it is spending marketing budget on visibility rather than on publishing the one number a player actually wants before choosing a game. Ireland’s players are left reading that number off a lobby instead, and a lobby’s figure is only ever as good as the operator repeating it correctly.

Reactoonz and Fire Joker each carry a mechanic worth naming beyond the table above, because the studio’s own page describes both in some detail even without a return figure attached. Reactoonz’s Gargantoon accumulates energy from every winning cluster on its 7×7 grid and, once charged, the page states it can trigger “a chain reaction of up to five fabulous features” in a single sequence. Fire Joker runs a much smaller board with a Respin of Fire feature that awards one extra spin on the third reel when two reels show matching stacked symbols without a win, and a Wheel of Multipliers, triggered when every position fills with the same symbol, that the page states can multiply the total win by up to 10x.

Where Play’n GO actually shows up among the nine partners

Partner Play’n GO slots Checked
MegaRush Shown on homepage provider strip, alongside Pragmatic Play, Relax Gaming and NetEnt 3 Sept 2026
Nomini Not listed on the site’s own provider directory 3 Sept 2026
Playzilla Not listed on the site’s own provider directory 3 Sept 2026
21Bit Not shown among the providers named on the homepage 3 Sept 2026
Wild Fortune Not shown on the homepage opened 3 Sept 2026
JackpotCity Not named among the providers highlighted on the page opened 3 Sept 2026
LeoVegas Could not open; redirected to a German-licence domain 3 Sept 2026
Betway Could not open; redirected to betway.de 3 Sept 2026
888casino Could not open; redirected to a German-market domain 3 Sept 2026

One confirmed out of nine is a thin result, and it is the honest one rather than a generous reading of partial evidence. Nomini and Playzilla each run provider directories listing well over a hundred studios, checked in full for this guide, and Play’n GO’s name is absent from both. That does not rule out the studio sitting inside a white-label umbrella neither casino names outright, but nothing on the pages opened supports it.

That gap is worth sitting with for a moment, because Play’n GO is not a niche studio anywhere else. Book of Dead is one of the most recognised slot titles in the industry by reputation, and a company running licences across Malta, Gibraltar and the UK while expanding into five more markets in eighteen months is not a small operation. Its absence from most of this site’s partner lobbies looks more like a commercial decision about which casinos it chooses to supply than any sign the studio itself is thin on the ground.

What the missing RTP figures mean for choosing where to play

Ireland’s Gambling Regulation Act 2024 will eventually require licensed operators to run under a €10 maximum stake and a €3,000 maximum win on certain casino-style games, once online casino applications open under the Gambling Regulatory Authority of Ireland; that is expected in 2027, not yet. None of that changes the more immediate point here: a player choosing between Book of Dead and a Pragmatic Play title with a stated 96.48% is choosing between a game whose long-run return is published and one whose isn’t, at least not by the people who built it. That is not a reason to avoid Play’n GO’s slots, which remain some of the most-imitated designs in the industry, but it is a reason to treat any RTP figure attached to them in a lobby as the lobby’s claim rather than the studio’s. The real money slots page covers how to read a lobby’s own figures against a studio’s when the two disagree, and the how we rate page sets out why a check like this one carries a date rather than a permanent verdict.

Where that leaves a player looking specifically for Play’n GO

MegaRush is the one partner on this site where the studio’s logo appeared on the page opened, sitting alongside Pragmatic Play, Relax Gaming and NetEnt. The MegaRush review covers the rest of what that casino offers. For the other eight partners, either the provider directory ran to a full list with Play’n GO absent from it, or the site could not be opened from here at all, and neither is a reason to guess. Once online casino licences under the Gambling Regulation Act 2024 begin issuing, expected in 2027, this coverage picture is exactly the kind of detail the Ireland gambling licence page will need to update, and Yggdrasil’s own provider page shows a similarly patchy spread across the same nine casinos.

Play'n GO in Ireland: questions

7 questions

What is the RTP of Book of Dead?

01
Play'n GO's own game page for Book of Dead does not state an RTP figure, only the release date of 14 January 2016 and a description of the expanding-symbol free spins feature. Any RTP number attached to the game in a casino lobby or a review site did not come from the studio's own page, so it is left out here rather than repeated as fact.

Where is Play'n GO based?

02
The company's own about page lists a Malta office in Valletta and a Gibraltar office, and states it holds a Malta Gaming Authority licence (MGA/B2B/225/2012) plus licences from the Gibraltar Licensing Authority and the UK Gambling Commission. It describes operating in more than 35 jurisdictions.

Who founded Play'n GO?

03
Play'n GO's own page names Johan Törnqvist as chief executive and co-founder. It does not disclose an exact founding year or a parent company on the page checked.

Which Irish casino has Play'n GO slots?

04
MegaRush showed the Play'n GO logo on its own homepage provider strip in September 2026, alongside Pragmatic Play, Relax Gaming and NetEnt. Nomini, Playzilla, 21Bit, Wild Fortune and JackpotCity did not show Play'n GO on the pages opened, and LeoVegas, Betway and 888casino redirected to German-market domains and could not be checked at all.

What is Reactoonz about?

05
Reactoonz is a 7×7 grid slot from Play'n GO, released 23 October 2017 per the studio's own page, built around clustering alien symbols and a character called Gargantoon that accumulates energy from wins and can trigger a chain of up to five features. No RTP or volatility figure is stated on the game's own page.

Is Play'n GO licensed?

06
Yes. Its own site lists a Malta Gaming Authority B2B licence, a Gibraltar remote gambling licence, and UK Gambling Commission accounts, which together cover most of the jurisdictions its games reach.

What is Fire Joker's RTP?

07
Play'n GO's own page for Fire Joker, released 13 June 2016, does not state an RTP figure. It describes a Respin of Fire feature and a Wheel of Multipliers worth up to 10x, but leaves the return-to-player percentage unpublished, the same gap as on Book of Dead and Reactoonz.

18+. Please gamble responsibly. Gambling involves risk. Only gamble with money you can afford to lose.

National Gambling Helpline (GamblingCare.ie): 1800 936 725, 24 hours, free and confidential ·Extern Problem Gambling: 089 241 5401 ·Gamblers Anonymous Ireland: 01 872 1133